Mile Post 294, Blue Ridge Parkway 
HOURS: Mar. 15–Nov. 30 daily 9 a.m.–5 p.m.
Textile entrepreneur Moses H. Cone and his wife, Bertha, built their sprawling 13,000-square-foot mansion in 1901 and named it Flat Top Manor to honor its views of Flat Top Mountain. The 23-room Colonial Revival home was meant to be a respite from the hustle and bustle of Cone’s business empire and it’s believed that the grand columns, leaded glass windows, and oversized dormers were designed to showcase his wealth.
Cone had a strong appreciation for nature and was a dedicated conservationist. He carved a series of trails on his land that he and Bertha walked in the mornings. The couple welcomed area residents to walk or ride horses on the trails, turning their land into a recreation area of sorts.
Cone died in 1908 at the age of 51. Bertha continued living in the house until her death in 1947. The home was donated to the Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital in Greensboro, North Carolina. The hospital board, in turn, donated it to the National Park Service with the caveat that it would become known as the Moses H. Cone Memorial Park and be managed as part of the Blue Ridge Parkway .
The home has become one of the most-visited sights along the Parkway and the trails remain popular with hikers, joggers, and equestrians.
In 1952, the Southern Highland Craft Guild opened the Parkway Craft Center , a gallery, on the main floor of the manor. From June to October tours of the home are offered on weekends at 10 and 11 a.m. and 2, 3, and 4 p.m. Reservations are required (828/295-3782).