The Windsor Wood Carving Museum (850 Ouellette Ave., 519/977-0823, www.windsorwoodcarvingmuseum.ca , 9 a.m.–4 p.m. Tues.–Sat., free) offers a glimpse into historical carvings, as well as contemporary work by some of Canada’s finest craftsmen. The expansive one-room museum allows for close-up viewing of most of the pieces.
The Park House Museum (Kings Navy Yard, 214 Dalhousie St., Amherstburg, 519/736-2511, www.parkhousemuseum.com , 11 a.m.–4 p.m. daily June–Aug., 11 a.m.–4 p.m. Mon.–Fri. Sept.–May, $2 adults, $1.50 seniors, $1 children) has the unique distinction of being the oldest house in the Windsor  area and the oldest house from Detroit .
The house was built near the mouth of the Rouge River in Detroit in the 1790s, but when the city was turned over to the Americans with the signing of the Jay Treaty, Alexander MacKintosh, a loyalist to the crown, moved the house to Amherstburg in 1796.