Puerto Octay  dates from 1852, but its architectural legacy of European-style neoclassical and chalet houses dates from the early 20th century. None of these is a recognized national monument, but at least a dozen private residences and other buildings contribute to its captivating ambience.
One of those buildings is the Casa de la Cultura Emilio Winkler (Independencia 591), housing part of the Museo El Colono, a well-organized collection of maps, photographs, and other materials on early German colonization. The building is too small, though, to contain an assortment of antique farm equipment that spills out of a barn and onto the grounds of a separate facility at the point where the gravel road to Península Centinela splits off the paved road to Frutillar . Both units have recently been closed as personnel from the Universidad Austral modernize the facilities and reorganize the exhibits.